Full Council

Responsible for all functions of the authority, including all matters specifically reserved to Council by regulation and statute. It approves and keeps under review the Constitution of the Council, appoints, and where necessary, dismisses the Leader/Spokesperson of the Council, approves procedures for and the appointment of the Committees and such other bodies as the Council may decide. It appoints Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees and determines their membership. It makes appointments to outside organisations. It adopts statutory and major non-statutory policies, including best value performance plan; community care plan; community strategy; crime & disorder reduction strategy; Development Plan; Corporate Plan; Plans or Strategies for the control of the Council's borrowing or capital expenditure; Plans or Strategies or draft plans or strategies for any of the above descriptions which have to be submitted to the Secretary of State or a Minister for approval; Food Safety Service Plan; Housing Investment Programme; Local Agenda 21 Strategy; IS/ICT Strategy; Asset Management Plan; Leisure and Cultural Strategy; Licensing Policy Statement; Gambling Policy Statement. It approves the Members' allowances scheme and the Council's budget and Council Tax for the District. It provides an opportunity for members of the public to ask questions or make statements about any aspects of Council policy. It receives reports from its Committees and officers. It promotes and opposes Bills and Orders in Parliament. It carries out any other functions required by Statute to be discharged by the Council. It makes and revokes Byelaws. It deals with matters relating to elections. It determines any decision of a Policy Committee, not yet implemented, referred to it by the Review Committee. It considers proposals to establish, dissolve or group Parish Councils and fixes the number of Parish Councillors. It authorises applications to the Secretary of State for the transfer of housing land or stock owned by the Council and discusses Notices of Motion submitted in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.
07 May 2015 - 04 May 2016
  • Meetings
  • Members
  • Other Information


PartyNameRoleMembership Dates
Page 1 of 4, Displaying items 1 to 10 of 40 members/vacancies that match search criteria
Liberal Democrat
Cllr CI Black BSc MICS, Liberal Democrat Group Member 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Cllr JC Burton Member 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Cllr Mrs LA Butcher, Conservative Group Member 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Cllr MR Carter, Conservative Group Member 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Cllr TG Cutmore, Conservative Group Leader 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Cllr RR Dray, Conservative Group Member 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Cllr J H Gibson Member 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Cllr Mrs H L A Glynn Chairman 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Cllr Mrs A V Hale Member 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Cllr K H Hudson, Conservative Group Deputy Leader 19/05/2015 - 04/05/2016
Sonia Worthington
01702 546366

Other Information