ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES

1 SUMMARY

1.1 The Council is invited to agree the allocation of seats to committees following a change in political composition.

2 DISCUSSION

- 2.1 The Council has a statutory duty by virtue of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 (the "Act") to ensure that appointments to committees reflect the proportion of the total number of seats on the Council held by each political group, unless otherwise agreed (as set out in paragraph 4 below).
- 2.2 Following a recent change in the political composition, the Chief Executive has re-calculated the allocation of seats in accordance with the Act, which sets down the following criteria that must be followed when appointing Members to committees:-
 - (1) That not all the seats are held by Members of the same political group.
 - (2) That, if a political group has a majority of the membership of the Council, then that group has the majority of the seats.
 - (3) That, subject to principles (1) and (2) above, the total number of seats each political group has on all ordinary committees is in proportion to that group's share of the total Council elected membership.
 - (4) That, subject to principles (1), (2) and (3) above, each political group has the same proportion of seats as it holds on the Council as a whole.
- 2.3 The current composition of the Council is as follows:-

Conservative	27
Rochford District Residents	6
Liberal Democrat	2
Independent	2
Non Group Members/Vacancy	2

2.4 The proposed allocation of seats to committees is as indicated in appendix 1 to this report. For ease of reference, appendix 2 sets out the allocation of seats agreed at Annual Council on 18 May 2021 and the current membership of committees.

3 **RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS**

3.1 Provision is made within the 2021/22 estimates for the anticipated costs that will arise from the Council's committees.

4 LEGAL IMPLICATIONS

- 4.1 Part 1, Section 15 (5) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, which is entitled *Political balance on committees etc*, states that it is the duty of the local authority to adhere to the following principles:
 - (a) That not all the seats on the body are allocated to the same political group;
 - (b) that the majority of seats on the body is allocated to a particular political group if the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
 - (c) subject to paragraphs (a) and (b) above, that the number of seats on the ordinary committees of a relevant authority which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all the seats on the ordinary committees of that authority as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority; and
 - (d) subject to paragraphs (a) to (c) above, that the number of the seats on the body which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of all the seats on that body as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority.

5 EQUALITY AND DIVERSITY IMPLICATIONS

5.1 An Equality Impact Assessment has been completed and found there to be no impacts (either positive or negative) on protected groups, as defined under the Equality Act 2010.

6 **RECOMMENDATION**

- 6.1 It is proposed that Council **RESOLVES**
 - (1) That the Council's committees be constituted as set out in appendix 1 to this report.
 - (2) That Members be appointed to serve on committees for the remainder of the 2021/22 Municipal Year.

Angela Law

Assistant Director, Legal & Democratic

Background Papers:-

None.

For further information please contact Sonia Worthington (Principal Democratic & Corporate Services Officer) on:-

Phone: 01702 318141 Email: <u>sonia.worthington@rochford.gov.uk</u>

If you would like this report in large print, Braille or another language please contact 01702 318111.

Item 11 Appendix 1

COMMITTEE SEAT ALLOCATIONS AS AT 7 DECEMBER 2021

Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative (69.2308%)	Rochford District Residents (15.3846%)	Liberal Democrat (5.1282%)	Independent (5.1282%)	Non-Group (5.1282%)
Audit	11	8	2		1	0
Chief Officer Appointments	9	6*	1*		1	0
Development	13	9	2	1	1	0
Licensing & Appeals Planning Policy	15 6	10* 4	2* 1	1	1	0
Review	15	10*	2*	1	1	0
Standards	8	6	1		1	0
Statutory Officer Personnel	9	6*	1*		1	0
Total No. of Seats	86	61	14	5.5	5.5	0

Item 11 Appendix 1

* Note: Conservative and Rochford District Resident Groups can each nominate to **1** additional seat on <u>either</u> Licensing & Appeals Committee <u>or</u> Review Committee. In addition, they can each nominate to **1** additional seat on <u>either</u> Chief Officer Appointments Committee <u>or</u> Statutory Officer Personnel Committee.

Note: Liberal Democrat and Independent Groups can each nominate to **1** available seat on <u>either</u> Chief Officer Appointments Committee <u>or</u> Statutory Officer Personnel Committee and can each nominate to **1** available seat on <u>either</u> Audit Committee <u>or</u> Standards Committee.

Note: Liberal Democrat and Independent Groups can also each nominate to 1 available seat on Planning Policy Committee.

Item 11 Appendix 1

COMMITTEE SEAT ALLOCATIONS AS AT 18 MAY 2021

Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative (69.2308%)	Rochford District Residents (15.3846%)	Liberal Democrat (7.6923%)	Independent (5.1282%)	Non-Group (2.5641%)
Audit	11	8	2	1	0	0
Chief Officer Appointments	9	6	1**	1	0**	0
Development	13	9	2	1	1	0
Licensing & Appeals Planning Policy	15 6	10* 4	2* 1	1	1	0
Review	15	10*	2*	1	1	0
Standards	8	6	1	1	0	0
Statutory Officer Personnel	9	6	1**	1	0**	0
Total No. of Seats	86	60	14	7.5	4.5	0

CURRENT COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Audit (11)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs L A Butcher Vice-Chairman: Cllr P J Shaw Cllr Mrs T L Carter Cllr R R Dray Cllr Mrs E P Gadsdon Cllr J N Gooding Cllr Ms T D Knight Cllr J L Lawmon Cllr R Milne Cllr G W Myers Cllr Mrs L Shaw
Chief Officer Appointments Committee (9)	Chairman: Cllr S E Wootton Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs C E Roe Cllr R R Dray Cllr A H Eves Cllr D Merrick Cllr L J Newport Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr C M Stanley Cllr I H Ward
Development Committee (13)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs L Shaw Vice-Chairman: Cllr S P Smith Cllr Mrs L A Butcher Cllr D S Efde Cllr A H Eves Cllr I A Foster Cllr J L Lawmon Cllr D Merrick Cllr L J Newport Cllr P J Shaw Cllr C M Stanley Cllr Mrs C A Weston Cllr A L Williams

COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Licensing & Appeals (15)	Chairman: Cllr A L Williams Vice-Chairman: Cllr D S Efde Cllr M R Carter Cllr M R Dray Cllr Mrs E P Gadsdon Cllr J N Gooding Cllr M Hoy Cllr T D Knight Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Cllr Mrs L J Newport Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr P J Shaw Cllr C M Stanley Cllr Mrs C A Weston Cllr M G Wilkinson
Planning Policy (6)	Chairman: Cllr D J Sperring Cllr I A Foster Cllr M Hoy Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Cllr J E Newport Cllr Mrs C A Weston
Review (15)	Chairman: Cllr S A Wilson Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Cllr R P Constable Cllr R R Dray Cllr I A Foster Cllr Mrs E P Gadsdon Cllr J N Gooding Cllr B T Hazlewood Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr G W Myers Cllr J E Newport Cllr Mrs C A Pavelin Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr P J Shaw Cllr M G Wilkinson

COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Standards (8)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Vice-Chairman: Cllr R R Dray Cllr Mrs T L Carter Cllr D S Efde Cllr J N Gooding Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Cllr G W Myers Vacancy
Statutory Officer Personnel Committee (9)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs C E Roe Cllr Mrs T L Carter Cllr R R Dray Cllr Mrs E P Gadsdon Cllr J L Lawmon Cllr D Merrick Cllr S E Wootton Vacancy