Development Committee – 26 November 2020

Minutes of the meeting of the Development Committee held on **26 November 2020** when there were present:-

Chairman: Cllr S P Smith Vice-Chairman: Cllr P J Shaw

Cllr Mrs L A Butcher
Cllr D S Efde
Cllr C M Stanley
Cllr A H Eves
Cllr A L Williams
Cllr N J Hookway
Cllr S A Wilson

Cllr D Merrick

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs G J Ioannou and Mrs C A Weston.

SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS

Cllr Mrs J R Gooding - for Cllr Mrs C A Weston
Cllr M G Wilkinson - for Cllr G J Ioannou

NON-MEMBERS ATTENDING

Cllrs C C Cannell, M Hoy, G J Ioannou, Mrs C M Mason, J E Newport, Mrs C E Roe, M J Steptoe and S E Wootton. ,

OFFICERS PRESENT

A Hutchings - Acting Managing Director

M Hotten - Assistant Director, Place & Environment

Y Dunn - Planning Manager

K Rodgers - Team Leader (Area South)

K Ellis - Senior Planner

C Irwin - Solicitor

S Worthington - Principal Democratic & Corporate Services Officer

L Morris - Democratic Services Officer

PUBLIC SPEAKERS

S Faulkner R Eburne M English

199 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Cllr M J Steptoe declared a non-pecuniary interest in item 5 of the agenda, 20/00363/OUT – Land East of Ashingdon Road and North of Rochford Garden Way, Rochford by virtue of membership of Essex County Council. Cllr M J Steptoe also advised that when he was Leader of Rochford District Council, he had met with Bloor Homes and the Rochford Supporters Group who opposed the application.

Development Committee – 26 November 2020

Cllr A L Williams declared a non-pecuniary interest in item 5 of the agenda, 20/00363/OUT – Land East of Ashingdon Road and North of Rochford Garden Way, Rochford by virtue of chairmanship of Rochford Parish Council.

Cllrs G J Ioannou and Mrs L Shaw declared a non-pecuniary interest in item 5 of the agenda, 20/00363/OUT – Land East of Ashingdon Road and North of Rochford Garden Way, Rochford by virtue of having met with the Rochford Supporters Group.

Cllr Mrs J R Gooding declared a non-pecuniary interest in item 5 of the agenda, 20/00363/OUT – Land East of Ashingdon Road and North of Rochford Garden Way, Rochford by virtue of living in close proximity to the area.

Cllr D Merrick declared a non-pecuniary interest in item 5 of the agenda, 20/00363/OUT – Land East of Ashingdon Road and North of Rochford Garden Way, Rochford by virtue of previously being acquainted with the directors of A W Squire Ltd and D W Squire Ltd.

Cllr J E Newport declared a non-pecuniary interest in item 5 of the agenda, 20/00363/OUT – Land East of Ashingdon Road and North of Rochford Garden Way, Rochford by virtue of discussing the subject matter with Rochford Supporters Group, Bloor Homes and Friends of the Earth.

Cllr S E Wootton declared a non-pecuniary interest in item 5 of the agenda, 20/00363/OUT – Land East of Ashingdon Road and North of Rochford Garden Way, Rochford by virtue of having met with Bloor Homes, Rochford Supporters Group, other Rochford District Council Members and Essex County Council on the subject matter.

Cllr Mrs L A Butcher declared a non-pecuniary interest in item 5 of the agenda, 20/00363/OUT – Land East of Ashingdon Road and North of Rochford Garden Way, Rochford by virtue of residing close to the application site and having previously met with Rochford Supporters Group.

200 20/00363/OUT – LAND EAST OF ASHINGDON ROAD AND NORTH OF ROCHFORD GARDEN WAY, ROCHFORD

The Committee considered an outline application for the demolition of Nos. 148 and 150 Ashingdon Road, removal of highway tree and formation of access onto Ashingdon Road, formation of secondary access onto Percy Cottis Road to serve a residential development of 662 dwellings and community building with associated infrastructure, details of Phase 1 of 223 dwellings to consider access, layout, appearance, scale and landscaping, details of Phases 2 and 3 to consider access and layout only.

Cllr M G Wilkinson moved a Motion, seconded by Cllr Mrs L Shaw, for the refusal of the application on the grounds that the application amounted to over-development, did not comply with Policy SER8, did not comply with the local development plan as this had not been updated and was therefore out of date, did not provide an appropriate access to the site off Ashingdon Road as a result of the proposed junction giving rise to safety concerns, including requiring the narrowing of the pedestrian footway and as a result of the loss of a highway tree and due to the impact of traffic from the proposed development on the wider road network.

Cllr N J Hookway moved an amendment to the Motion, seconded by Cllr S A Wilson, that the reasons for refusal should also include the fact that the requirement for youth facilities would not be met within the Policy SER 8 site allocation.

On a requisition pursuant to Committee Procedure Rule 12.4, a recorded vote was taken on the Motion as follows:-

- For (10) Cllrs L A Butcher; D S Efde; A H Eves; Mrs J R Gooding; N J Hookway; Mrs L Shaw; P J Shaw; C M Stanley; M G Wilkinson; S A Wilson
- Against (3) Cllrs D Merrick; S P Smith; A L Williams

Abstain (0)

Resolved

That the reasons for refusal be amended to include the requirement for youth facilities not being met.

Cllr M G Wilkinson moved the substantive Motion for refusal of the application on the grounds detailed above and this was seconded by Cllr Mrs L Shaw.

On a requisition pursuant to Committee Procedure Rule 12.4, a recorded vote was taken on the Motion as follows:-

- For (6) Cllrs Mrs L A Butcher; N J Hookway; Mrs L Shaw; P J Shaw; C M Stanley; M G Wilkinson;
- Against (7) Cllrs D S Efde; A H Eves; Mrs J R Gooding; D Merrick; S P Smith; A L Williams; S A Wilson

Abstain (0)

A Motion to defer the application in order to discuss the application further with the applicant and for officers to provide further advice and clarity in respect of the reasons for refusal debated was moved by Cllr A L Williams and seconded by Cllr Mrs J R Gooding.

Development Committee – 26 November 2020

	On a requisition pursuant to Committee Procedure Rule 12.4, a recorded vote was taken on the Motion as follows:-			
	For (9)	Cllrs Mrs L A Butcher; D S Efde; A H Eves; Mrs J R Gooding; N J Hookway; D Merrick; S P Smith; A L Williams; S A Wilson		
	Against (4)	Cllrs Mrs L Shaw; P J Shaw; C M Stanley; M G Wilkinson		
	Abstain (0)			
	Resolved			
	That the application be deferred.			
The meeting closed at 10.57 pm.				
			Chairman	
			Date	

If you would like these minutes in large print, Braille or another language please contact 01702 318111.