

Rochford District Council

# **Standards Committee**

agenda	
	Date
	6 July 2011
	Time
	7.30 pm
	Place
	Committee Room 4 Civic Suite Rayleigh
The public are welcome to attend this meeting	Contact
	Michelle Power
	Rochford District Council South Street Rochford Essex SS4 1BW
	Phone: 01702 546366 Fax: 01702 545737
	Fmail:

Email: memberservices@rochford.gov.uk

If you would like this agenda in large print, Braille or another language please contact 01702 318111

The agendas and minutes of meetings can be accessed via the Council's website at **www.rochford.gov.uk** 





# Members of the Standards Committee

# **District Council Members**

Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs C A Weston

Cllr C I Black Cllr Mrs H L A Glynn Cllr D Merrick Cllr Mrs M J Webster

#### **Parish Members**

Cllr P Beckers Cllr Mrs D Constable Cllr Mrs L A Vingoe

#### **Independent Members**

Mr D J Cottis Mr M G Drage Mr S Shadbolt Mrs L Walker

#### **Terms of Reference**

All matters set out in paragraph 9.03 of Article 9 of the Constitution.

The Council's vision is to make Rochford District a place which provides opportunities for the best possible quality of life for all who live, work and visit here.

# The Council's objectives are to make a difference:-

- to our people
- to our community
- to our environment
- to our local economy.

# The Council's values (the way we work to pursue these objectives) are to:-

- Be an open, accountable, listening, responsive Council
- Put the customer and citizen at the heart of everything we do, delivering services in a caring and sensitive manner
- Co-ordinate the management of resources with an emphasis on sustainability
- Value the contribution of partners, employees and citizens, trusting each other and working collaboratively.

Emergency evacuation announcement

Page No

- 1 Appointment of Chairman
- 2 Apologies for Absence
- 3 Substitutes
- 4 Non-Members attending
- 5 Minutes of the Meeting held on 7 April 2011
- 6 To Receive Declarations of Interest

#### 7 Composition of Standards Committee Sub-Committees – District Council Membership 7.1

To agree the Membership of the three Sub-Committees of the Standards Committee formed to assess, review and hear complaints on a rota basis. The Sub-Committees will each be chaired by an Independent Member.

It is suggested that the Assessment Sub-Committee Membership should remain the same as last year, with the exception of the replacement of Cllr P A Capon with Cllr Mrs M J Webster in Group A (see attached).

# 8 The Localism Bill and Development of a Replacement Standards Framework

8.1 – 8.3

To consider the report of the Head of Legal, Estates and Member Services on progress in developing arrangements for a Standards framework following the abolition of the current statutory Standards Regime, as proposed in the Localism Bill.

autwares

Paul Warren Chief Executive