# ROCHFORD DISTRICT COUNCIL



# **Standards Committee**

# agenda

# Date

19 October 2006

**Time** 

7.30 pm

# **Place**

Committee Room 4 Civic Suite Rayleigh

# Contact

John Bostock

Rochford District Council South Street Rochford Essex SS4 1BW

Tel: (01702) 546366 Fax: (01702) 545737

Email:

committee@rochford.gov.uk



#### **Members of the Standards Committee**

## **District Council Members**

Chairman: Cllr P F A Webster Vice-Chairman: Cllr J M Pullen

Cllr C I Black Cllr Mrs S A Harper Cllr J Thomass

#### **Parish Members**

Cllr M J Steptoe, Barling Magna Parish Council Cllr R E Vingoe Hockley Parish Council

# **Independent Members**

Mr A C Comber Mr D J Cottis Mr B M Flynn

## **Terms of Reference**

All matters set out in paragraph 8.03 of Article 8 of the Constitution including the management of the budget in respect of these functions.

The Council's vision is to make Rochford the place of choice in the County to live, work and visit.

# The Council's principal aims are to:-

- Provide quality, cost effective services
- Work towards a safer and more caring community
- Promote a green and sustainable environment
- Encourage a thriving local economy
- Improve the quality of life for people in our District
- Maintain and enhance our local heritage

- 1 Apologies for Absence
- 2 Substitutes
- 3 Non-Members attending
- 4 Minutes of the Meeting held on 6 July 2006
- 5 To Receive Declarations of Interest
- 6 Member Training Programme Mid Programme 6.1-6.7 Review

To consider the report of the Head of Administrative and member Services on the mid-programme review of the 2006/07 Member Training Programme.

7 The Ethical Governance Toolkit 7.1-7.4

To consider the report of the Corporate Director (Internal Services) on the use of an ethical governance toolkit promoted by the Standards Board for England to assess how well the Council is meeting the ethical agenda and to improve further its arrangements.

8 Fifth Annual Assembly of Standards Committees

To receive a briefing from the attendees of the Fifth Annual Assembly of Standards Committees.

9 Independent Members Forum

To receive the note of the Independent Members' Forum which is to follow.

Paul Warren Chief Executive