MODERNISING AGENDA – APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES

1 SUMMARY

1.1 This report addresses the nominations to Committees established under the new political structure and the appointment of Chairman and Vice-Chairman thereto.

2 BACKGROUND

2.1 At its meeting on 18 December 2001, Council agreed the pro-rata division of seats to Committees within the new political structure and delegated authority to the Corporate Director (Law, Planning & Administration) to accept nominations to each Committee. Council also agreed that the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of each Committee be appointed at the next ordinary meeting of the Council (Minute 472/01 refers).

3 COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

- 3.1 The table setting out the pro-rata position, together with the finalised nominations to Committees, are set out at Appendix One.
- 3.2 The nominations fit the overall pro-rata position with the exception of the nomination by the Liberal Democrat Group of an Independent Group Member to a Liberal Democrat seat on the Standards Committee. In overall terms, this affects the pro-rata position by one and, as such, would need to be agreed by Full Council.

4 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN/VICE-CHAIRMAN

- 4.1 Whilst there is no legal requirement that Committee Chairmen/Vice-Chairmen be appointed on the basis of pro-rata allocation, Appendix Two shows the prorata position.
- 4.2 Appendix Two also lists Chairman/Vice-Chairman nominations that have been forwarded by Group Leaders at the time of report production.

5 RECOMMENDATION

- 5.1 It is proposed that Council:-
 - (1) Agrees the appointments to seats within the new political structure as set out at Appendix 1 to this report.
 - (2) Appoints Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen to the Committees. (CD(LP&A))

Head of Administrative and Member Services

Background Papers:

None.

For further information please contact John Bostock on:-

Tel:- 01702 546366, Ext. 3900 E-Mail:- john.bostock@rochford.gov.uk

Appendix One

PROPOSED MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

Committee	No. of Seats					
		Conservative	Labour	<u>Liberal</u> Democrat	Independent	Cllr J R F Mason
		47.5%	22.5%	22.5%	<u>5%</u>	2.5%
Appeals & Licensing	6	4	1	1	0	0
Standards	8 (5+3)	-	1	1	0	0
Policy & Finance	13	6	3	3	1	0
Community Services	13	6	3	3	1	0
Environment	13	6	3	3	1	0
Finance & Procedures Scrutiny	9	4	2	2	1	0
Community Scrutiny	9	4	2	2		1
Environment Scrutiny	9	4	2	2		1
Total Number of Seats	77	37	17	17	4	2

The following shows the make-up of committees based on nominations received from Group Leaders. The originally proposed allocation, based on pro-rata, is shown in brackets:-

APPEALS & LICENSING COMMITTEE (6)

Conservative Group (4)

Cllr R A Amner Cllr T G Cutmore
Cllr Mrs R Brown Cllr G A Mockford

Independent Group (0)

Liberal Democrat Group (1)

Cllr Mrs H L A Glynn

Labour Group (1)

Cllr P D Stebbing

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5)

Conservative Group (3)

Cllr J E Grey Cllr T Livings Cllr P F A Webster

<u>Substitutes</u>

Cllr Mrs R Brown Cllr T G Cutmore Cllr P A Capon

Independent Group (0)

Liberal Democrat Group (1)

Cllr R E Vingoe

Substitutes

None

Labour Group (1)

Cllr G Fox

<u>Substitutes</u>

Cllr P D Stebbing

PLANNING COMMITTEE (All Members)

POLICY & FINANCE COMMITTEE (13)

Conservative Group (6)

Cllr R Adams
Cllr P J Morgan
Cllr J E Grey
Cllr G M Mockford
Cllr P F A Webster

Substitutes

Cllr R A Amner Cllr Mrs L Hungate
Cllr Mrs R Brown Cllr Mrs M J Webster

Independent Group (1)

Cllr R E Vingoe

Substitutes

Cllr R S Allen

Liberal Democrat Group (3)

Cllr D R Helson Cllr A Hosking Cllr Mrs J Helson

Substitutes

Cllr V H Leach Cllr Mrs J M Giles

Labour Group (3)

Cllr G Fox Cllr D A Weir

Cllr C R Morgan

Substitutes

Cllr Mrs M A Weir Cllr Mrs J E Ford

Cllr Mrs M S Vince

COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE (13)

Conservative Group (6)

Cllr R A Amner Cllr T G Cutmore
Cllr Mrs R Brown Cllr R A Pearson
Cllr P A Capon Cllr S P Smith

Substitutes

Cllr T Livings Cllr M G B Starke
Cllr P J Morgan Cllr P F A Webster

Independent Group (1)

Cllr R S Allen

Substitutes

Cllr R E Vingoe

Liberal Democrat Group (3)

Cllr Mrs H L A Glynn Cllr Mrs J Helson Cllr V H Leach

Substitutes

Cllr D R Helson Cllr A Hosking

Labour Group (3)

Cllr Mrs W M Stevenson Cllr Mrs M S Vince Cllr Mrs M A Weir

<u>Substitutes</u>

Cllr P D Stebbing

Cllr G Fox

Cllr D A Weir

ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE (13)

Conservative Group (6)

Cllr P A Capon Cllr C C Langlands
Cllr A Gibbs Cllr T Livings

Cllr Mrs L Hungate Cllr Mrs M J Webster

Substitutes

Cllr Mrs R Brown
Cllr T G Cutmore
Cllr S P Smith

Cllr J E Grey

Independent Group (1)

Cllr R S Allen

Substitutes

None.

Liberal Democrat Group (3)

Cllr Mrs J M Giles Cllr V H Leach

Cllr D R Helson

Substitutes

Cllr Mrs J Helson Cllr C I Black

Labour Group (3)

Cllr Mrs J E Ford Cllr Mrs M S Vince

Cllr P D Stebbing

Substitutes

Cllr Mrs W M Stevenson Cllr G Fox

Cllr C R Morgan

FINANCE & PROCEDURES OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (9)

Conservative Group (4)

Cllr T G Cutmore Cllr R A Pearson Cllr T Livings Cllr S P Smith

<u>Substitutes</u>

Cllr P A Capon Cllr C C Langlands

Cllr K A Gibbs

Independent (1)

Cllr J R F Mason

<u>Substitutes</u>

None.

Liberal Democrat Group (2)

Cllr C I Black Cllr Mrs J Hall

<u>Substitutes</u>

Cllr Mrs H L A Glynn

Labour Group (2)

Cllr P D Stebbing Cllr Mrs W M Stevenson

Substitutes

Cllr D F Flack

COMMUNITY OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (9)

Conservative Group (4)

Cllr J E Grey Cllr G A Mockford Cllr Mrs L Hungate Cllr Mrs M J Webster

Substitutes

Cllr R Adams Cllr C C Langlands

Cllr K A Gibbs

Independent (1)

Cllr J R F Mason

<u>Substitutes</u>

None.

Liberal Democrat Group (2)

Cllr Mrs J M Giles Cllr Mrs J Hall

Substitutes

Cllr C I Black

Labour Group (2)

Cllr D F Flack Cllr Mrs J E Ford

Substitutes

Cllr C R Morgan

ENVIRONMENT OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (9)

Conservative Group (4)

Cllr R Adams Cllr M G B Starke
Cllr P J Morgan Cllr P F A Webster

<u>Substitutes</u>

Cllr R A Amner Cllr G A Mockford

Independent Group (1)

Cllr R E Vingoe

Substitutes

None.

Liberal Democrat Group (2)

Cllr Mrs H L A Glynn Cllr A Hosking

Substitutes

Cllr Mrs J Hall

Labour Group (2)

Cllr D A Weir Cllr Mrs M A Weir

Substitutes

Cllr D F Flack

Appendix Two

PROPOSED CHAIRMEN/VICE-CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES

Total Number of Committees	Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Independent Group
9	4	2	2	1

APPEALS & LICENSING COMMITTEE

Chairman: No nominations received Vice-Chairman: No nominations received

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Chairman: No nominations received Vice-Chairman: No nominations received

PLANNING COMMITTEE

Independent Group Nominations

Chairman: Cllr R E Vingoe

Liberal Democrat Group Nominations

Chairman: Cllr R E Vingoe Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs J Helson

POLICY & FINANCE COMMITTEE

Liberal Democrat Group Nominations

Chairman: Cllr D R Helson Vice-Chairman: Cllr A Hosking

COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE

Liberal Democrat Group Nominations

Chairman: Cllr Mrs H L A Glynn

Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs J Hall

ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

Independent Group Nominations

Vice-Chairman: Cllr R S Allen

Liberal Democrat Group Nominations

Chairman: Cllr V H Leach Vice-Chairman: Cllr R S Allen

FINANCE & PROCEDURES OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Chairman: No nominations received Vice-Chairman: No nominations received

COMMUNITY SERVICES OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Chairman: No nominations received Vice-Chairman: No nominations received

ENVIRONMENT OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Chairman: No nominations received Vice-Chairman: No nominations received