Annual Council – 16 May 2006

Minutes of the meeting of **Annual Council** held on **16 May 2006** when there were present:-

Cllr R A Amner Cllr C J Lumley Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Cllr Mrs P Aves Cllr C I Black Cllr J R F Mason Cllr Mrs R Brown Cllr D Merrick Cllr Mrs L A Butcher Cllr R A Oatham Cllr P A Capon Cllr J M Pullen Cllr Mrs T J Capon Cllr P R Robinson Cllr J P Cottis Cllr P K Savill Cllr T G Cutmore Cllr C G Seagers Cllr K A Gibbs Cllr S P Smith Cllr Mrs H L A Glynn Cllr D G Stansby Cllr T E Goodwin Cllr Mrs M A Starke Cllr K J Gordon Cllr M G B Starke Cllr J E Grev Cllr J Thomass Cllr Mrs S A Harper Cllr Mrs M J Webster Cllr K H Hudson

Clir Mrs G A Frairpei

Clir K H Hudson

Clir P F A Webster

Clir A J Humphries

Clir Mrs C A Weston

Clir Mrs B J Wilkins

Clir Mrs L Hungate

Cllr T Livings

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllr Mrs J A Mockford.

OFFICERS PRESENT

P Warren - Chief Executive

R J Honey - Corporate Director (Internal Services)

G Woolhouse - Head of Housing, Health and Community Care S Fowler - Head of Administrative and Member Services

H Collins - Civic and Public Relations Officer
J Bostock - Principal Committee Administrator

S Worthington - Committee Administrator

Prior to the election of a Chairman for 2006/07 Members extended their thanks to the outgoing Chairman, Councillor P F A Webster, for all his work and contributions to the community.

The outgoing Chairman extended personal thanks to his supporting team and was pleased to be able to present his Charity, The People's Dispensary for Sick Animals, with a cheque for £3,666. Specific reference was made to how the year in office had facilitated an appreciation of the high number of organisations operating across the District and their importance to the community.

162 ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL FOR 2006/07

Resolved

That Councillor Mrs M J Webster be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor Mrs M J Webster made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Chairman.

163 ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL FOR 2006/07

Resolved

That Councillor K A Gibbs be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor K A Gibbs made the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Vice-Chairman.

164 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN'S CHAPLAIN FOR 2006/07

The Chairman had invited the Reverend Harvey Reed of St Thomas Church, Thorpedene Avenue, Hullbridge to continue in office for a further Municipal Year and help in introducing an arrangement whereby each main Council meeting would be officiated by a representative from a different church who would be provided the opportunity to report on the history of their church and its community activities.

165 MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting held on 27 April 2006 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

166 ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR 2006/07

Resolved

That Councillor T G Cutmore be elected Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.

167 DISTRICT AND PARISH COUNCIL ELECTION RESULTS

Council received the results of the District Council and Parish Council Elections held on 4 May 2006.

168 NOTICES OF GROUP MEMBERSHIP

The Proper Officer had received details of the membership of the political groups as set out at Appendix 1 to these Minutes.

169 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND SUB-COMMITTEES 2006/07

Council considered the report of the Chief Executive on the discharge of business during the 2006/07 Municipal Year.

Resolved

- (1) That Committees and Sub-Committees be constituted and appointed (including the Chairmen/Vice-Chairmen) on the basis set out in Appendix 2 to these Minutes.
- (2) That Council Champion and Lead Councillor/spokesperson appointees be as follows:-

Appointment	Appointee	
Lead Councillor and Spokesperson for E-Government	Councillor C A Hungate	
Business Champion	Councillor T G Cutmore	
Benefits Champion	Councillor T G Cutmore	
Procurement Champion	Councillor T G Cutmore	
Historic Environment Champion	Councillor Mrs M J Webster	
	(HAMS)	

170 SCHEME OF DELEGATION

Resolved

That the Scheme of Delegation, as set out in Part 3 of the Council's Constitution, be agreed.

171 MEETINGS TIMETABLE 2006/07

Resolved

That the Meetings Timetable, as set out at Appendix 3 to these Minutes, be agreed. (HAMS)

172 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OUTSIDE BODIES 2006/07

Council considered the report of the Head of Administrative and Member Services on appointments to Outside Bodies for the 2006/07 Municipal Year and attendance at various fora.

Annual Council – 16 May 2006

Resolved

The meeting closed at 8.05pm.

- (1) That the Appointments to Outside Bodies for 2006/07 be as set out at Appendix 4 to these Minutes.
- (2) That the Leader of the Council (or their nominee) be the Council's representative at meetings of the County Council's South Essex Forum, the Rochford Local Strategic Partnership, the Thames Gateway South Essex Board and the Fourth Option Special Interest Group.
- (3) That Councillors T G Cutmore and S P Smith be appointed to the Joint Transfer Steering Group and that authority be delegated to the Chief Executive, in consultation with the Leader of the Council, to appoint to the two remaining seats on the Joint Transfer Steering Group and the four seats on the Rochford Housing Association Shadow Board.
- (4) That authority be delegated to the Policy, Finance and Strategic Performance Committee to fill any remaining vacancies at its next meeting. (CE/HAMS)

Chairman

Chaimhai	1	 	
Data			