ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES

1 SUMMARY

1.1 At a meeting of Council on 13 December Council was invited to agree the allocation of seats to Committees following changes in political composition.

2 DISCUSSION

2.1 Council agreed the constitution of the Council's committees on 13 December 2022. It also agreed the membership of the Development Committee, as follows, subject to voting on the outstanding recommendation set out below at paragraph 6.1:-

Cllrs Mrs L A Butcher, R A Constable, J E Cripps, D S Efde, A H Eves, I A Foster, Mrs E P Gadsdon, T D Knight, R Milne, Mrs L A Shaw, C M Stanley, A L Williams and S A Wilson.

- 2.2 Nominations were received from the Group Leaders in advance of the meeting on 13 December and these are set out in appendix 1, which also sets out the membership of the Development Committee, as detailed above.
- 2.3 There are only 8 nominations for 9 seats on the Chief Officer Appointments Committee and according to the pro rata rules it is for the Independent Group to nominate to the outstanding seat. In accordance with paragraph 1.2(iii) on page 4.3 of the Constitution, if the Leader of the Independent Group decides not to nominate to this seat, the vacant seat may be opened up to other groups for nomination and a vote taken to determine which Member gets the seat.

3 **RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS**

3.1 Provision is made within the 2022/23 estimates for the anticipated costs that will arise from the Council's committees.

4 LEGAL IMPLICATIONS

4.1 The Council report considered at the Council meeting on 13 December complied with the pro rata requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. At that same meeting Council agreed the constitution of its committees for the remainder of the 2022/23 municipal year in compliance with those requirements.

5 EQUALITY AND DIVERSITY IMPLICATIONS

5.1 An Equality Impact Assessment has been completed and found there to be no impacts (either positive or negative) on protected groups, as defined under the Equality Act 2010.

6 **RECOMMENDATION**

6.1 It is proposed that Council **RESOLVES**

(1) That Members be appointed to serve on committees for the remainder of the 2022/23 Municipal Year.

Divolventluken

Andrew Hunkin Interim Director of People & Governance

Background Papers:-

None.

For further information please contact Sonia Worthington (Principal Democratic & Corporate Services Officer) on:-

Phone: 01702 318141 Email: <u>sonia.worthington@rochford.gov.uk</u>

If you would like this report in large print, Braille or another language please contact 01702 318111.

Item 5

Appendix 1

NOMINATIONS FOR COMMITTEES 2022/22

COMMITTEE	NOMINATION
Audit (11)	Cllr Mrs L A Butcher Cllr M R Carter Cllr Mrs E P Gadsdon Cllr R Milne Cllr G W Myers Cllr Mrs L Shaw
	Cllr A G Cross
	Cllr M Hoy
	Cllr J L Lawmon
	Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr Mrs V A Wilson
Chief Officer Appointments Committee (9) <u>Note</u> : 1 nomination required to 1 outstanding seat from the Independent Group	Cllr G W Myers Cllr Mrs C E Roe Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr I H Ward Cllr S E Wootton
	Cllr J E Newport
	Cllr L J Newport
	Cllr Mrs V A Wilson

Appendix 1

COMMITTEE	NOMINATION
Development Committee (13)	Cllr Mrs L A Butcher
	Cllr R P Constable
	Cllr D S Efde
	Cllr I A Foster
	Cllr Mrs E P Gadsdon
	Cllr R Milne
	Cllr Mrs L Shaw
	Cllr A L Williams
	Cllr J E Cripps
	Cllr C M Stanley
	Cllr A H Eves
	Cllr T D Knight
	Cllr S A Wilson
Licensing & Appeals (15)	Cllr Mrs D L Belton
	Cllr D S Efde
	Cllr Mrs E P Gadsdon
	Cllr Mrs J E McPherson
	Cllr G W Myers
	Cllr Mrs L Shaw
	Cllr M J Webb
	Cllr A L Williams
	Cllr M Hoy
	Cllr R Lambourne
	Cllr Mrs C M Mason
	Cllr Mrs D P Squires-Coleman
	Cllr A G Cross
	Clir D W Sharp
	Cllr M G Wilkinson

	Appendix 1
COMMITTEE	NOMINATION
Overview & Scrutiny (15)	Cllr R P Constable Cllr Mrs E P Gadsdon Cllr J N Gooding Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Cllr R Milne Cllr G W Myers
	Cllr R Lambourne Cllr L J Newport
	Cllr A H Eves Cllr J R F Mason
	Cllr J E Newport Cllr D W Sharp
	Cllr M G Wilkinson
	Cllr S A Wilson
Planning Policy Committee (7)	Cllr I A Foster Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Cllr D J Sperring Cllr M J Steptoe
	Cllr M Hoy
	Cllr J R F Mason
	Cllr J E Newport
Standards (8)	Cllr D S Efde Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Cllr G W Myers
	Cllr T D Knight
	Cllr Mrs D P Squires-Coleman
	Cllr C M Stanley
	Cllr M G Wilkinson

Appendix 1

COMMITTEE	NOMINATION
Statutory Officer Personnel Committee (9)	Cllr D S Efde
	Cllr Mrs E P Gadsdon
	Cllr Mrs J R Lumley
	Cllr Mrs C E Roe
	Cllr S E Wootton
	Cllr L J Newport
	Cllr Mrs C M Mason
	Cllr J E Newport
	Cllr J L Lawmon
	1