ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES

1 SUMMARY

1.1 The Council is invited to agree the allocation of seats to Committees following a change in political composition.

2 DISCUSSION

- 2.1 The Council has a statutory duty by virtue of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 to ensure that appointments to Committees reflect the proportion of the total number of seats on the Council held by each political group, unless otherwise agreed.
- 2.2 Following a recent change in the political composition, the Managing Director has re-calculated the allocation of seats in accordance with the Act, which sets down the following criteria that must be followed when appointing Members to Committees:-
 - (1) That not all the seats are held by Members of the same political group.
 - (2) That, if a political group has a majority of the membership of the Council, then that group has the majority of the seats.
 - (3) That, subject to principles (1) and (2) above, the total number of seats each political group has on all ordinary Committees is in proportion to that group's share of the total Council elected membership.
 - (4) That, subject to principles (1), (2) and (3) above, each political group has the same proportion of seats as it holds on the Council as a whole.
- 2.3 The current composition of the Council is as follows:-

Conservative	25
Rochford District Residents	4
Liberal Democrat	3
Green	2
Independent	2
Non Group Members/Vacancy	3

2.4 The proposed allocation of seats to Committees is as indicated in appendix 1 to this report. For ease of reference, appendix 2 sets out the allocation of seats agreed at Annual Council on 9 July 2020 and the current membership of Committees.

3 RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS

3.1 Provision is made within the 2020/21 estimates for the anticipated costs that will arise from the Council's Committees.

4 LEGAL IMPLICATIONS

4.1 None other than already set out in paragraphs 2.1 and 2.2 above.

5 EQUALITY AND DIVERSITY IMPLICATIONS

5.1 An Equality Impact Assessment has been completed and found there to be no impacts (either positive or negative) on protected groups, as defined under the Equality Act 2010.

6 RECOMMENDATION

- 6.1 It is proposed that Council **RESOLVES**
 - (1) That Committees be constituted as set out in appendix 1 to this report.
 - (2) That Members be appointed to serve on Committees for the remainder of the 2020/21 Municipal Year.

Angela Law

Assistant Director, Legal & Democratic

Background Papers:-

None.

For further information please contact Sonia Worthington (Principal Democratic & Corporate Services Officer) on:-

Phone: 01702 318141

Email: sonia.worthington@rochford.gov.uk

If you would like this report in large print, Braille or another language please contact 01702 318111.

COMMITTEE SEAT ALLOCATIONS AS AT 20 OCTOBER 2020

Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative (64.10%)	Rochford District Residents (10.26%)	Liberal Democrat (7.69%)	Green (5.13%)	Independent (5.13%)	Non-Group / Vacancy (7.69%)
Audit	11	7	1	1 1 1		1	0
Chief Officer Appointments	9	6	1	1		1	0
Development	13	8*	1*	1 1		1	0
Investment Board	13	8*	1*	1	1	1	0
Licensing & Appeals	15	10	2	1	1	1	0
Planning Policy	6	4	1	1	0	0	0
Review	15	10	2	1	1 1		0
Standards	8	5	1	1		1	0
Statutory Officer Personnel	9	6	1	1	1		0
Total No. of Seats	99	65 *	12 *	9	6.5	6.5	0

^{*} Note: Conservative and Rochford District Resident Groups can each nominate to **1** additional seat on <u>either</u> Development Committee <u>or</u> Investment Board.

Item 13 Appendix 1

^{**} Note: Green and Independent Groups can nominate to **1** of **1** available seat on Chief Officer Appointments Committee, Planning Policy Committee and Statutory Officer Personnel Committee.

COMMITTEE SEAT ALLOCATIONS AS AT 9 JULY 2020

Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative (64.10%)	Rochford District Residents (10.26%)	Green (7.69%)	Liberal Democrat (7.69%)	Independent (5.13%)	Non-Group / Vacancy (5.13%)
Audit	11	7	1	1	1	1	0
Chief Officer Appointments	9	6	1	1	1	0	0
Development	13	8*	1*	1	1	1	0
Investment Board	13	8*	1*	1	1	1	0
Licensing & Appeals	15	10	2	1	1	1	0
Planning Policy	6	4	1		1**	0	0
Review	15	10	2	1	1	1	0
Standards	8	5	1	1	1	0	0
Statutory Officer Personnel	9	6	1	1	1	0	0
Total No. of Seats	99	65 *	12 *	8.5	8.5	5	0

^{*} Note: Conservative and Rochford District Resident Groups can each nominate to **1** additional seat on <u>either</u> Development Committee <u>or</u> Investment Board.

Item 13 Appendix 2

** Note: Green and Liberal Democrat Groups can nominate to 1 of 1 available seat on Planning Policy Committee.

*

CURRENT COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Audit (11)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs L A Butcher Vice-Chairman: Cllr D Merrick Cllr Mrs T L Carter Cllr M Hoy Cllr G J Ioannou Cllr M J Lucas-Gill Cllr R Milne Cllr J E Newport Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr P J Shaw Cllr D J Sperring
Chief Officer Appointments Committee (9)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs C E Roe Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr M Hoy Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr D Merrick Cllr R Milne Cllr J E Newport Cllr I H Ward Cllr S E Wootton
Development Committee (13)	Chairman: Cllr S P Smith Vice-Chairman: Cllr P J Shaw Cllr Mrs L A Butcher Cllr D S Efde Cllr A H Eves Cllr N J Hookway Cllr G J Ioannou Cllr D Merrick Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr C M Stanley Cllr Mrs C A Weston Cllr A L Williams Cllr S A Wilson

COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Investment Board (13)	Chairman: Cllr M J Steptoe Vice-Chairman: Cllr A L Williams Cllr D S Efde Cllr A H Eves Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Cllr G J Ioannou Cllr M J Lucas-Gill Cllr J E Newport Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr D J Sperring Cllr I H Ward Cllr S A Wilson Cllr S E Wootton
Licensing & Appeals (15)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr C C Cannell Cllr M R Carter Cllr D S Efde Cllr B T Hazlewood Cllr N J Hookway Cllr M Hoy Cllr M J Lucas-Gill Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Cllr D Merrick Cllr P J Shaw Cllr Mrs C A Weston Cllr M G Wilkinson
Planning Policy (6)	Chairman: Cllr D J Sperring Cllr M Hoy Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr Mrs C A Weston Cllr S E Wootton

COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Review (15)	Chairman: Cllr J C Burton Vice-Chairman: Cllr D J Sperring Cllr Mrs D L Belton Cllr C C Cannell Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Cllr B T Hazlewood Cllr N J Hookway Cllr M Hoy Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Cllr R Milne Cllr Mrs C A Pavelin Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr P J Shaw Cllr M G Wilkinson
Standards (8)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Cllr Mrs T L Carter Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Cllr M J Lucas-Gill Cllr C M Stanley Cllr M J Steptoe Cllr S A Wilson
Statutory Officer Personnel Committee (9)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs D L Belton Cllr D S Efde Cllr M Hoy Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr J E Newport Cllr Mrs C E Roe Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr D J Sperring