Responsible for all functions of the authority, including all matters specifically reserved to Council by regulation and statute. It approves and keeps under review the Constitution of the Council, appoints, and where necessary, dismisses the Leader/Spokesperson of the Council, approves procedures for and the appointment of the Committees and such other bodies as the Council may decide. It appoints Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees and determines their membership. It makes appointments to outside organisations. It adopts statutory and major non-statutory policies, including best value performance plan; community care plan; community strategy; crime & disorder reduction strategy; Development Plan; Corporate Plan; Plans or Strategies for the control of the Council's borrowing or capital expenditure; Plans or Strategies or draft plans or strategies for any of the above descriptions which have to be submitted to the Secretary of State or a Minister for approval; Food Safety Service Plan; Housing Investment Programme; Local Agenda 21 Strategy; IS/ICT Strategy; Asset Management Plan; Leisure and Cultural Strategy; Licensing Policy Statement; Gambling Policy Statement. It approves the Members' allowances scheme and the Council's budget and Council Tax for the District. It provides an opportunity for members of the public to ask questions or make statements about any aspects of Council policy. It receives reports from its Committees and officers. It promotes and opposes Bills and Orders in Parliament. It carries out any other functions required by Statute to be discharged by the Council. It makes and revokes Byelaws. It deals with matters relating to elections. It determines any decision of a Policy Committee, not yet implemented, referred to it by the Review Committee. It considers proposals to establish, dissolve or group Parish Councils and fixes the number of Parish Councillors. It authorises applications to the Secretary of State for the transfer of housnig land or stock owned by the Council and discusses Notices of Motion submitted in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.
04 May 2006 - 02 May 2007
  • Meetings
  • Members
  • Other Information


Meeting Date - Start Time : End TimeVenueStatusCalendar
Page 2 of 2, Displaying meetings 11 to 11 of 11 meetings found in selected date range
26 April 2007 - 19:30 : TBCCouncil Chamber, Civic Suite, 2 Hockley Road, Rayleigh, SS6 8EBScheduled


PartyNameRoleMembership Dates
Page 4 of 4, Displaying items 31 to 39 of 39 members/vacancies that match search criteria
Cllr D G Stansby Member 16/05/2006 - 02/05/2007
Cllr M Starke Member 16/05/2006 - 02/05/2007
Mrs Maureen Starke Member 16/05/2006 - 02/05/2007
Cllr J Thomass MA MSc MA Member 16/05/2006 - 02/05/2007
Cllr Mrs M J Webster Chairman 16/05/2006 - 02/05/2007
Cllr P F A Webster Member 16/05/2006 - 02/05/2007
Cllr Mrs CA Weston, Conservative Group Member 16/05/2006 - 02/05/2007
Cllr Mrs B J Wilkins Member 16/05/2006 - 02/05/2007

Other Information