Responsible for all functions of the authority, including all matters specifically reserved to Council by regulation and statute. It approves and keeps under review the Constitution of the Council, appoints, and where necessary, dismisses the Leader/Spokesperson of the Council, approves procedures for and the appointment of the Committees and such other bodies as the Council may decide. It appoints Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees and determines their membership. It makes appointments to outside organisations. It adopts statutory and major non-statutory policies, including best value performance plan; community care plan; community strategy; crime & disorder reduction strategy; Development Plan; Corporate Plan; Food Law Enforcement Service Plan; Housing Investment Programme; Local Agenda 21 Strategy; IS/ICT Strategy; Asset Management Plan; Leisure Strategy; Licensing Policy Statement. It approves the Members' allowances scheme and the Council's budget and Council Tax for the District. It provides an opportunity for members of the public to ask questions or make statements about any aspects of Council policy. It receives reports from its Committees and officers. It promotes and opposes Bills and Orders in Parliament. It carries out any other functions required by Statute to be discharged by the Council. It makes and revokes Byelaws. It deals with matters relating to elections. It determines any decision of a Policy Committee, not yet implemented, referred to it by an Overview & Scrutiny Committee. It considers proposals to establish, dissolve or group Parish Councils and fixes the number of Parish Councillors. It authorises applications to the Secretary of State for the transfer of housnig land or stock owned by the Council and discusses Notices of Motion submitted in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.
05 May 2005 - 03 May 2006
  • Meetings
  • Members
  • Other Information


PartyNameRoleMembership Dates
Page 3 of 4, Displaying items 21 to 30 of 39 members/vacancies that match search criteria
Liberal Democrat
Cllr Mrs JR Lumley Conservative Group Member 17/05/2005 - 03/05/2006
Rochford District Residents
Cllr JRF Mason, Rochford District Residents & Green Group Member 17/05/2005 - 03/05/2006
Cllr D Merrick, Conservative Group Member 17/05/2005 - 03/05/2006
Cllr Mrs J A Mockford Member 14/07/2005 - 03/05/2006
Liberal Democrat
Cllr RA Oatham, Liberal Democrat Group Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group 17/05/2005 - 03/05/2006
Cllr J Pullen Member 17/05/2005 - 03/05/2006
Cllr P R Robinson Member 17/05/2005 - 03/05/2006
Mr P Savill Member 17/05/2005 - 03/05/2006
Cllr C G Seagers Member 17/05/2005 - 03/05/2006
Cllr SP Smith, Conservative Group Member 17/05/2005 - 03/05/2006

Other Information