ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES

1 SUMMARY

1.1 The Council is invited to agree the allocation of seats to Committees following changes in political composition.

2 DISCUSSION

- 2.1 The Council has a statutory duty by virtue of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 to ensure that appointments to Committees reflect the proportion of the total number of seats on the Council held by each political group, unless otherwise agreed.
- 2.2 Following recent changes in the political composition, the Managing Director has re-calculated the allocation of seats in accordance with the Act, which sets down the following criteria that must be followed when appointing Members to Committees:-
 - (1) That not all the seats are held by Members of the same political group.
 - (2) That, if a political group has a majority of the membership of the Council, then that group has the majority of the seats.
 - (3) That, subject to principles (1) and (2) above, the total number of seats each political group has on all ordinary Committees is in proportion to that group's share of the total Council elected membership.
 - (4) That, subject to principles (1), (2) and (3) above, each political group has the same proportion of seats as it holds on the Council as a whole.
- 2.3 The current composition of the Council is as follows:-

Conservative	25
Green	3
Independent	2
Liberal Democrat	3
Rochford District Residents	4
Non Group Members/Vacancy	2

- 2.4 The proposed allocation of seats to Committees is as indicated in appendix 1 to this report. For ease of reference, appendix 2 sets out the allocation of seats agreed at Council on 22 October 2019 and appendix 3 sets out the membership of Committees at the end of the 2019/20 Municipal Year.
- 2.5 Council, at its meeting on 18 February 2020 determined that the Planning Policy Sub-Committee be constituted as a Committee of Council. Its terms of reference and size remain unchanged as the Council decision was taken to

correct a technical oversight that Committees rather than Sub-Committees report into Council. Appendix 1 therefore includes the Planning Policy Committee.

3 **RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS**

3.1 Provision has been made within the 2020/21 budget for the anticipated costs that arise from the Council's Committees.

4 **RISK IMPLICATIONS**

4.1 None arising.

5 LEGAL IMPLICATIONS

5.1 None other than those already set out in the report.

6 EQUALITY AND DIVERSITY IMPLICATIONS

6.1 An Equality Impact Assessment has been completed and found there to be no impacts (either positive or negative) on protected groups as defined under the Equality Act 2010.

7 RECOMMENDATION

- 7.1 It is proposed that Council **RESOLVES**
 - (1) That Committees be constituted as shown in appendix 1 to this report.
 - (2) That Members be appointed to serve on Committees for the 2020/21 Municipal Year.

Thank cutton

Shaun Scrutton Managing Director

Background Papers:-

None.

For further information please contact Sonia Worthington (Principal Democratic & Corporate Services Officer) on:-

Phone: 01702 318141 Email: Sonia.worthington@rochford.gov.uk

If you would like this report in large print, Braille or another language please contact 01702 318111.

Item 5

COMMITTEE SEAT ALLOCATIONS AS AT MAY 2020

Conservative	25
Rochford District Residents	4
Green	3
Liberal Democrat	3
Independent Group	2
Non Group Members/Vacancy	2

Non-Group / **Rochford District** Independent No. of Green Liberal Democrat Committee Conservative Residents Vacancy Seats (7.69%) (7.69%) (5.13%) (64.10%) (10.26%) (5.13%) 11 7 Audit 1 1 1 1 0 Chief Officer 9 0 Appointments 6 1 1 1 0 8* 1* Development 13 1 1 1 0 Investment 1* 13 8* Board 1 1 1 0 Licensing & Appeals 15 10 2 1 1 0 1 Planning Policy 6 4 1 1** 0 0 2 Review 15 10 1 1 1 0 Standards 8 5 1 1 1 0 0 Total No. of Seats 90 59 11 7.5 7.5 5 0

* Note: Conservative and Rochford District Resident Groups can each nominate to **1** additional seat on <u>either</u> Development Committee <u>or</u> Investment Board.

** Note: Green and Liberal Democrat Groups can nominate to **1** of **1** available seat on Planning Policy Committee.

Item 5

COMMITTEE SEAT ALLOCATIONS AS AT 22 OCTOBER 2019

Rochford Liberal Non-Group District No. of Green Committee Conservative Democrat **Members** Seats (7.6923%) Residents (69.2308%) (7.6923%) (7.6923%) (7.6923%) Audit 11 8 1 0 1 Chief Officer 9 Appointments 6 1 1 1 0 9* Development 13 1 * 1 * 1 * 0 9* 1 * 1 * 1 * Investment Board 13 0 Licensing & Appeals 15 10 + 1+ 1+ 1+ 0 Review 15 10 +1+ 1+ 1+ 0 2** Standards 8 6 **Total No. of Seats** 84 58 * 6 * 6 * 6 * 0

Note: There are 6 additional seats that can be appointed to by all 4 Groups, as follows:

* Note: Conservative, Green, Liberal Democrat and Rochford District Resident Groups can each nominate to **1** additional seat on <u>either</u> Development Committee or Investment Board; **or**

+ Note: Conservative, Green, Liberal Democrat and Rochford District Resident Groups can each nominate to 1 of 2 available seats on Licensing & Appeals Committee <u>or</u> Review Committee.

Appendix 2

Item 5

** In addition, Green, Liberal Democrat and Rochford District Resident Groups can each nominate to 1 of 2 available seats on Standards Committee.

SUB-COMMITTEE SEAT ALLOCATIONS AS AT 22 OCTOBER 2019

Sub-Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative (69.2308%)	Green (7.6923%)	Liberal Democrat (7.6923%)	Rochford District Residents (7.6923%)	Non-Group Members (7.6923%)
Planning Policy Sub-Committee	6	4	2**		0	
Total Number of Seats	6	4	2**		0	

** Note: Green, Liberal Democrat and Rochford District Resident Groups can nominate to 1 of 2 available seats

Appendix 3

COMMITTEE/SUB-COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS AS OF END OF 2019/20 MUNICIPAL YEAR

COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Audit (11)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs L A Butcher Vice-Chairman: Cllr D Merrick Cllr Mrs T L Carter Cllr M Hoy Cllr M J Lucas-Gill Cllr R Milne Cllr J E Newport Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr P J Shaw Cllr D J Sperring Vacancy
Chief Officer Appointments Committee (9)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs C E Roe Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr Mrs T L Carter Cllr M Hoy Cllr D Merrick Cllr R Milne Cllr J E Newport Cllr I H Ward Cllr S E Wootton

COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Development Committee (13)	Chairman: Cllr S P Smith Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr C C Cannell Cllr D S Efde Cllr A H Eves Cllr M J Lucas-Gill Cllr D Merrick Cllr P J Shaw Cllr C M Stanley Cllr Mrs C A Weston Cllr A L Williams Cllr S A Wilson Cllr S E Wootton
Investment Board (13)	Chairman: Cllr M J Steptoe Vice-Chairman: Cllr A L Williams Cllr D S Efde Cllr A H Eves Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Cllr M J Lucas-Gill Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr D J Sperring Cllr C M Stanley Cllr I H Ward Cllr S A Wilson Cllr S E Wootton Vacancy
Licensing & Appeals (15)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs C A Weston Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Cllr D S Efde Cllr B T Hazlewood Cllr N J Hookway Cllr M J Lucas-Gill Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Cllr D Merrick Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr P J Shaw Cllr P J Shaw Cllr M G Wilkinson Cllr A L Williams Three vacancies

COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Review (15)	Chairman: Cllr J C Burton Vice-Chairman: Cllr D J Sperring Cllr Mrs D L Belton Cllr C C Cannell Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Cllr Mrs D Hoy Cllr Mrs D Hoy Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr Mrs C A Pavelin Cllr Mrs C A Pavelin Cllr Mrs L Shaw Cllr P J Shaw Vacancy
Standards (8)	Chairman: Cllr Mrs J E McPherson Vice-Chairman: Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Cllr Mrs L A Butcher Cllr Mrs J R Gooding Cllr M J Lucas-Gill Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr C M Stanley Cllr Mrs C A Weston

SUB-COMMITTEE	APPOINTEES
Planning Policy Sub-Committee (6)	Chairman: Cllr D J Sperring Cllr M Hoy Cllr Mrs J R Lumley Cllr Mrs C M Mason Cllr Mrs C A Weston Cllr S E Wootton